New government formed in Senegal
New government formed in Senegal

New government formed in Senegal

New cabinet includes 32 ministers, 3 state secretaries, official says DAKAR, Senegal

Senegalese President Macky Sall formed a new government early Monday after taking the office for a second term.

According to Maxime Jean Simon Ndiaye, the government’s new secretary general, the new government will have 32 ministers and three state secretaries.

Defense Minister Me Sidiki Kaba, Interior Minister Aly Ngouille Ndiaye, Finance and Budget Minister Abdoulaye Daouda Diallo, Foreign Affairs and Diaspora Minister Amadou Ba, Justice Minister Malick Sall, Petroleum and Energy Minister Mouhamadou Makhtar Cisse, Health and Social Action Minister Abdoulaye Diouf Sarr, National Education Minister Mamadou Talla, Sport Minister Matar Ba and Economy, Planning and Cooperation Minister Amadou Hott are among the members of the new cabinet.

Sall took the oath of his office for a second term on April 2 in Diamniado, a city near Dakar, the West African nation's capital.

According to the head of the National Committee of Census and Voting, Sall was re-elected for the next five years with the 58.27% of the votes.

In a constitutional referendum in March 2016, the presidential term was shortened from seven years to five.

Writing By Faruk Zorlu

Anadolu Agency website contains only a portion of the news stories offered to subscribers in the AA News Broadcasting System (HAS), and in summarized form. Please contact us for subscription options.

Related topics

Macky Sall